Mushrooms on the barbie

This was one of my favorite, go-to dishes all summer long, but it’s got potential year-round.  Thank you Mark Bittman for yet another simple and tasty recipe.

Recipe: Vietnamese-Style Portobello Mushrooms – NYTimes.com.

A few tips and tweaks:

  • Pan: apartment dweller that I am, I don’t have a grill, so I use a hot grill pan on the stove.
  • Herbs: I tend to have cilantro around more often than mint, so that’s what I use.
  • Oil: I use canola instead of peanut.
  • Marinade:  more time in the marinade means more flavor, so I let the mushrooms soak it up in the fridge for at least an hour, sometimes up to three.
  • Serving: I serve the mushrooms over rice (usually white, but jasmine is probably better), and more importantly, save the marinade and pour it over the rice before serving. LOTS of extra flavor that way.
Comment

